The Pastor and Worship (7)

The most important thing a pastor does is stand in a pulpit every Sunday and say, “Let us worship God.” If that ceases to be the primary thing I do in terms of my energy, my imagination, and the way I structure my life, then I no longer function as a pastor. I pick up some other identity.

I cannot fail to call the congregation to worship God, to listen to his Word, to offer themselves to God.  Worship becomes a place where we have our lives redefined for us.

—Eugene Peterson, “The Business Of Making Saints,” Leadership Spring 1997, 22

Leave a Reply

